Iaea Comprehensive Safeguards Agreement

President Carter submitted the agreement to the U.S. Senate on February 9, 1978. Its advice and ratification agreement was unanimously given on 2 July 1980. One of the agreements was that the president should put in place an appropriate inter-institutional mechanism for the implementation of the agreement in the United States. The result was the creation of the Interagency Steering Group for International Safeguards, which deals with political issues, and two sub-groups. The first, the « Security Agreements Working Group, » was to monitor implementation and take the necessary steps with regard to implementation, the second was a « negotiating team » to negotiate the subsidiary arrangements necessary to implement the agreement. Each of these three groups was led by the Department of Foreign Affairs. The U.S. safeguard agreement came into force on December 9, 1980. To date, the United States submitted to the IAEA a list of eligible facilities (EFL) comprising approximately 200 facilities, including facilities licensed by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission and eligible non-licensed facilities of the Ministry of Energy. Since then, the IAEA has been regularly informed of the registration or removal of facilities from the list. For eligible entities in which the IAEA chooses to exercise its right to apply safeguards, Part I of the IAEA Safeguard Agreement (Articles 1-26) defines the obligations of the IAEA and the United States, while Part II (Articles 27-90) defines the implementation procedures.

The minutes of the report describe the procedures for implementing eligible entities selected by the IAEA to be subject to registrations and reporting obligations, but not inspections of the protection system. Article III of the IAEA statute gives the Agency, among other things, the power to implement and manage safeguards. If the Governing Council approves a hedging agreement, it authorizes the Director General to conclude the agreement and then implement it. Read more → The IAEA and Canada concluded the first safeguard agreement in 1959, and in 1961, the IAEA Board of Governors adopted a document outs setting out the principles of protection. Since 1961, the scope and application of safeguards have changed. Most protection agreements are comprehensive safeguard agreements concluded by the IAEA with non-nuclear-weapon States, parties to the NPT and nuclear-weapon-free zones agreements. To date, the IAEA has concluded comprehensive safeguard agreements with 175 states. About 100 of these states have also concluded protocols on small amounts of their comprehensive protection agreements. The additional protocol is not a stand-alone agreement, but a protocol to a guarantee agreement that provides additional instruments for verification. In particular, it increases the IAEA`s ability to examine the peaceful use of nuclear materials in states that have comprehensive safeguard agreements.

The term « state-level concept » was first used in 2005 in an IAEA document, although the IAEA has followed the practice since the early 1990s. The state-level approach is used for all states with a comprehensive protection agreement, an applicable additional protocol and a broader conclusion.